Of Birthdays and Growing Old

I feel old in my soul.

Funny thing is, that’s not necessarily a bad thing. There was a time when celebrating a birthday meant two days of binge drinking and debauchery followed by memory loss of my actions for those two days. Actions that perhaps should have taken a hint and stayed in the recesses of my mind, never to rear their ugly head. Ever again.

Having done that excessively, to a point of almost losing my life in a car accident, I can say with certainty that I don’t miss it. I find, that with each passing year, my appreciation for the smaller finer things is growing. I’ve come to take delight in a simple voice note from a family member, those e-cards that mysteriously find their way into the junk folder and a monstrous(not everything has to be small)  slice of delectable chocolate cake.

Being an old soul isn’t bad at all. Finally I don’t need an excuse for not wanting to turn up to your bar opening. Conversations now take a form akin to this:

“Will you be coming to my event?”

“No”

“Why not?”

“I don’t want to”

Sigh. Life is so much simpler now. There’s no complications when you have your steaming mug of Earl Grey to look forward to on a chilly Saturday morning. It also feels damn good being sober over the weekend.

If there ever was a point to this post, it’s this: don’t fight too hard to hold onto your youth, rather find a comfort in how much more wiser you get with everyday you are blessed to walk this earth.

Also, it’s not too late to send in your birthday presents 🙂

3 thoughts on “Of Birthdays and Growing Old

Leave a comment